Pakistan has faced numerous natural and man-made disasters. Before the earthquake of 2005 Pakistan’s management of disaster was limited to the provision of emergency response. At this time the legislation on disaster management was the Calamity Act of 1958, which mainly covered emergency response.

The post-2005 earthquake challenges in terms of response, rehabilitation and reconstruction required a need for a formalised mechanism for preparing and responding to a disaster situation.

To fulfill this need the GoP introduced the National Disaster Management Ordinance, 2007 which became law in 2010 under the National Disaster Management Act. As part of this legislation a government coordination body, the National Disaster Management Commission (NDMC), was established under the chairmanship of the Prime Minister of Pakistan. As its executive arm, the National Disaster Management Authority (NDMA) was formed to coordinate and monitor implementation of national polices and strategies for disaster management.

Similarly, in provinces the Provincial Disaster Management Councils (PDMCs) were formed, with their respective Provincial Disaster Management Authorities (PDMAs) to oversee disaster related matters regionally, and at the district level the District Disaster Management Authorities (DDMAs). The same structures exist in all provinces as well as Azad Jammu and Kashmir (AJK) and the Northern Areas.

When disaster strikes, the wider humanitarian community coordinates closely with the government structure at national and sub-national level to respond effectively to humanitarian needs in coordination and partnership.

Government of Pakistan Links
National Disaster Management Authority (NDMA) Pakistan
Provincial Disaster Management Authority PDMA, Sindh
Provincial Disaster Management Authority (PDMA) KPK
Provincial Disaster Management Authority (PDMA) Punjab
Provincial Disaster Management Authority (PDMA) Baluchistan
Punjab Flood Relief and Rehabilitation
Federal Flood Commission

Other Government Links
Government of Pakistan
Economic Affairs Division Ministry of Foreign Affairs Pakistan
Earthquake Reconstruction & Rehabilitation Authority (ERRA) Pakistan